The Eras Tour in Edinburgh: The Taylor Swift show that shook the earth

I remember it all too well… I was ten years old, sitting in front of my family computer one night when I was whisked away into a fairytale by a girl with golden ringlets on the screen.

I had been watching YouTube videos when Taylor Swift’s Love Story music video appeared and – not to be dramatic – changed my life.

Okay – maybe that’s an exaggeration. However, as a bit of a tomboy growing up, the idea of romance and love usually had me screwing my nose up in disgust. But this time was different.

I went down a rabbit hole, watching her other music videos at the time. I remember watching the Our Song music video and thinking she was the prettiest girl I had ever seen. The video for Fearless was the first time I’d seen footage of her playing live and it looked incredible.

I’m not entirely sure what drew me to Taylor and her music but her hits quickly became the soundtrack of my post-homework evenings.

Flashforward 13 years later and her entire discography is almost always playing in my flat, much to Ryan’s delight I’m sure. I’ve been a Swiftie through every “era” of her music since.

As a teenager, seeing her live was an inconceivable idea since her tours were pretty US-focused. Yet a week ago, I did get to see her live and it felt unreal to be seeing her in my own country.

My Eras Tour outfit

If you don’t already know, Swifties have been dressing to the nines for The Eras Tour. I went through a hundred possible outfits before settling on an outfit based on Fearless and Speak Now, the albums that introduced me to Taylor Swift.

Taking inspiration from a few of her stage costumes from the Speak Now tour, I found my dress on Vinted and paired it with a pair of black knee-high boots I already owned. The gold sequins and tassels on my dress match the look I was trying to vaguely replicate.

I topped the look off with Taylor’s signature cat-eye eyeliner and red lipstick.

We were there for the doors opening and wormed our way as close to the stage as we could once we got in. The queue was massive but moved relatively quickly.

The queue to the general standing section of the stadium.
The queue to the general standing section.

Paramore

Before Taylor came on stage, Paramore (who I’m also a fan of) opened for her.

Paramore’s energetic and fun vibe rubbed off on the crowd, who had been waiting for over 2 hours after the doors opened.

I absolutely love Paramore so seeing them perform live was like a fever dream, especially hearing my favourite song The Only Exception.

Paramore opening for Taylor Swift at the Eras Tour
Paramore performing The Only Exception.

Being under five feet tall, I struggled to see most of the set but could occasionally catch a glimpse of Hayley over the shoulders of the crowd.

The star of the show: Taylor Swift

Shortly after Paramore left the stage, a clock appeared on the screen, counting down to what we were all waiting for.

I was relying heavily on the crowd’s reaction to indicate what was happening since I could only see the top half of the screen. The audience began counting down.

5… 4… 3… 2… 1…

And then she appeared.

Taylor Swift on stage during the Eras Tour in Edinburgh
Taylor Swift performing Lover.

I could hear her voice, welcoming Scotland to The Eras Tour and saying how happy she was to be here again. She asked us if we were ready to make memories together. The crowd went insane.

Then she played banger after banger, with the occasional costume change in between.

I could see her on the screen but every now and then I could see her when she was on the moving stage platforms or at the front of the stage. Ryan also lifted me a few times so I could see properly.

The midnights set during the Edinburgh show of Taylor Swift's The Eras Tour.

If Taylor Swift has an inflated ego, I honestly think it’s deserved at this point. Videos of her live performances never fully showcase her astonishing effect on the crowd.

During her first set, Taylor pointed into the crowd and the section of the stadium at the tip of her finger screamed and cheered at her command. She then went around the whole stadium, creating a wave of screaming with just the point of her finger.

The sense of community in the crowd was unbelievable. It was as if within the stadium walls, we’d created a safe haven for us to unashamedly scream lyrics that many of us have spent hours scanning for hidden meanings and theories.

My hand outstretched during the show, showing off my friendship bracelets.

I think people assume seeing a pop star live is nothing but a concert but fans have turned it into so much more.

Early on in the US tour fans started making and exchanging bracelets, this trend has remained prominent through the European tour as well. I had made gold and white bracelets to match my outfit.

I wasn’t too bothered about swapping with others, I mainly just found it fun. I had made friendship bracelets a handful of times as a child so returning to the activity as an adult felt familiar and comforting.

My thoughts on The Eras Tour

Some highlights from the show for me included the entire Evermore and Folklore sets, the song Enchanted and the stunning gown Taylor wore for it, her gorgeous Vivian Westwood dress worn during the Tortured Poets Department section of the show and the acoustic set including two surprise mash-ups of Would’ve, Could’ve, Should’ve/I Know Places and ’tis the damn season/Daylight.

I only wish she had a place in the show for her debut, self-titled album. It seems odd that a tour that celebrates the eras of her career neglects to acknowledge her very first era.

A photo from the last song of the night.
The last song of the evening.

I would’ve adored hearing Teardrops on my Guitar, Our Song or Picture to Burn. My favourites from the album Tied Together with a Smile and Mary’s Song (Oh My My My) are a little more obscure.

Everything else about the show blew me away, from the talented backing dancers to Taylor’s incredible vocals. It was totally surreal and totally worth the money I spent on it.

What Taylor Swift’s music means to me

Music is a form of escapism for many of us but it can also help us process what’s happening in our lives. I think what makes Taylor Swift’s music stand out so much is how she opens up to listeners.

Maybe that’s why I was drawn to her music in the first place. The vulnerability displayed in her songs has always struck a chord with me, even as an angsty teenager who felt the need to shy away from the “sappiness” of it.

Surrounded by people screaming the lyrics of Champagne Problems (which I have since learned shook the earth), I realised that they felt the same as I do. We all find comfort in relating to her lyrics – and if not relating to them, then perhaps sympathising.

Taylor Swift has completely captured the hearts of fans – and mine along with them. She isn’t perfect or above criticism but her music means a lot to me regardless.

As she sang the song that launched her career – the one I know all too well from the first time I heard 13 years ago – I was transported again to a fairytale, looking up at the stage and seeing one of the most beautiful and accomplished women I have still ever seen.

Did you attend The Eras Tour? Did you find it as incredible as I did? Let me know all about your experience in the comments.

Thanks for reading x

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started