My Top Tips for Online Thrifting

As most of you will know by now, one of my favourite things in life is secondhand shopping. However, with charity and vintage shops closed- retail therapy isn’t much of an option for us thrifters. Thankfully, there are plenty of pre-loved shopping apps and websites on the internet we can use to scratch that shopping itch. I’ve been using buying and selling websites for three years- although it’s not the same as in-person shopping- I know my way around them and love them! But I know that not everyone knows what they’re doing when shopping online- especially secondhand. So I’ve compiled a list of my best tips for you to make the best of online pre-loved shopping during lockdown.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions

My secondhand Nintendo Switch Lite video game console bought on Gumtree online
My secondhand Nintendo Switch Lite

Seller’s are generally happy to negotiate and answer any questions you have. Most secondhand platforms have some form of messaging service built-in- making it easy to contact sellers for any reason. You can ask if an item is still available or if they offer bundles with other items they’re selling. But don’t be afraid to ask about the condition or the size. If a dress or skirt is a size up or down from my usual size, sometimes I’ll ask them if they think it’ll fit my size. Negotiating prices is acceptable on most platforms, especially Gumtree and Shpock, so you can push pricey items to be more affordable. The listing for my Nintendo Switch Lite was at £150 but, after a little negotiation, I got it for £132. I did find the console for less but, those listing seemed a bit sketchy. I find that negotiating a price is better than going for the cheapest listing. More often than not- dirt cheap listings are too good to be true. So don’t be shy, contact the seller!

Make sure the listing has good images and description

People say photographs speak a thousand words- they do when it comes to shopping online as well! Avoid listing with photos from the website the item is originally from (as it’s not representing what the piece looks like now). Being able to see any imperfections, damage or details in the item is the key. Ensure listings show the back and front of the item- bonus points for listings with an image of the clothing label. Dark photos might disguise any stains or obscure the colour of the item. Blurry images and photos with filters are no-nos too.

Be very careful when reading the description of listings. With video games or consoles some seller can scam you by having “box only” in the small print of the description- blocking all blame and eliminating any chance of you getting your money back. As well as this, descriptions are the perfect place for people to list any imperfections an item has. You have to make sure you know what you’re buying.

Pay attention to reviews and ratings

Although ratings are a quick way to show a great seller- they don’t tell the full story. I almost bought a GameBoy Advance from a seller on Depop because they had a 4.5-star rating. Thankfully, I read a few of her reviews beforehand. All her recent reviews said the item they bought never arrived. The older reviews on their profile were all 5-stars which made their rating look amazing. It only takes a tiny bit of digging to make sure the seller is safe and secure to buy from. Sometimes it’s okay to take a chance on a newer seller who has no reviews. But, be careful, and remember to leave a review once you’ve received the item!

Be aware of buyer protection policies

Buyer Protection is important when online thrifting

Buyer protection policies vary from one platform to another. For example, Depop and Vinted only provide buyer protection for in-app purchases. This means that if a seller claims the app isn’t working and you have to transfer money- it could be a scam. However, Gumtree doesn’t have an in-app payment system- most people use PayPal since it has its own buyer protection scheme. Do some research on the app your using before buying anything through it. If something you buy on eBay doesn’t arrive or you’re unhappy with it, eBay will give you a refund out of their pocket before chasing up the seller. Shpock has a similar policy- they give you an automatic refund and order cancellation if the seller of an item you bought has been inactive. So, a seller can’t take your money and ignore your messages. Buyer protection policies let the website step in if anything goes wrong.

Filters and sorting options are your friend

If you’re looking for something specific or want to browse everything in your size, using in-app filters give more accurate results. Although you can just search “size 10” or “denim dress”, the results won’t filter out everything else. I love using the sorting system on eBay to filter the results down to auctions that end soon. You can swoop up a bargain with little hassle. Apps like Vinted have a great filtering system that’s super easy and beneficial to use. Plenty of platforms also have a filter for brands so you can narrow down your search even more. My mum (who rarely buys pre-loved) has found plenty of bargains on sites like eBay by using the sorting tools to display items “new- with tags”. Perfect for germophobes or anyone who doesn’t like the idea of wearing pre-owned clothing.

Bidding Wars aren’t worth it!

I had to learn this the hard way. eBay is a great platform but, one drawback to it as a buyer is that the price can go up and up and up. Bidding on items can be fun if there’s little competition over a small product you don’t want badly. But when it comes to larger, more expensive items- bidding wars are your worst enemy. I thought I was smart- waiting until the last 2 seconds before the auction ends, finger hovering over the enter button in anticipation. But, after losing to people quicker (or with more money) than me, I got more upset than it was worth. As well as that, I’ve seen bidding wars drive the price through the roof- items selling for more than they’re worth new from the shops. To prevent this, go into bidding with a price limit of what you think the item is worth. You have to take the condition and original price into account as well as delivery and shipping costs. This saves you from getting caught up in the moment and over-paying for items.

Don’t be afraid to search for something obscure

Some of the obscure clothing I have found secondhand on online thrifting and pre-loved websites
Some of the wonderfully wacky clothing I’ve found secondhand

You wouldn’t believe the crazy and weird clothing I’ve found selling secondhand on platforms like eBay and Depop. When I first started university, my fashion sense was more whacky and nerdy. I loved clothing that was “out there” and made me stand out. One of my infamous pieces from back then is my Batman skirt. I found this on eBay for £7. Don’t get me wrong- it’s not my style anymore but, occasionally I’ll wear it out and about. It just goes to show what you can find pre-loved- especially online. I always search for clothing secondhand before even considering buying it new. Even if you can’t find the exact item, you might find something similar- or even better!

Thrifting is one of my favourite things to do. So the fact I can shop pre-owned from the comfort of my sofa is a blessing- especially just now. It’ll never be the same as going around the charity shops but, it does make up for the lack of shopping during lockdown. Why not give online thrifting platforms a try? They make it a lot easier to find specific items- rather than trailing around the shops all day. Have you tried pre-loved shopping platforms? Have you gotten any bargains on them? Please tell me about your experience in the comments below.

Thank you so much for reading x

2 Replies to “My Top Tips for Online Thrifting”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started