My Make-up Essentials

With the end of lockdown in sight, I’m preparing for “normal life” again. Since lunch-dates and nights out have been non-existent for the past year, my face has been mainly makeup-free. Obviously, with my placement at BeautyBooker– I do wear make-up to work sometimes (usually if I am going to be in Zoom meetings), but I tend to focus on skin-care. Since I’m a student, my go-to make-up is mostly affordable middle-of-the-road options- no Chanel or Dior here. With “normal” life on the horizon, I thought I’d get back into the habit of looking presentable. Here are the make-up products I find myself reaching for the most and that you should try for post-lockdown life.

Eco Tools Makeup Brushes

Brushes are arguably the most important tools for make-up lovers. The brushes you use can make or break a look. There is a lot to consider when buying make-up brushes- How dense are they? What shape are they? What’s the texture of the bristles? How much do they cost? I have plenty of brushes, but these are my favourite. Eco Tools brushes are Vegan and cruelty-free, plus their packaging is all recycled plastic. I also love the look and feel of these brushes. I’m not a fan of gimmicky and novelty brushes; I prefer professional-looking ones that are simple in design. These brushes are soft, well-made, and a joy to use. I bought my full powder brush before my other ones, and it’s lasted me for ages. So, when I decided I needed new brushes, I immediately looked for a pack of these. I found this “Start the Day Beautifully Kit” that includes five brushes for a decent price.

Natural collection (Boots)

As a student (who isn’t in a beauty course), I can’t justify spending much on foundation and powders that I know I’ll use regularly and go through quickly. When I first started wearing make-up, my mum introduced me to the Boots Natural Collection. This collection features all the basics for under £3 each- which is perfect for students with strict budgets. Although the foundation might not be the best for coverage- it is the best quality for the low price. I’d highly recommend this collection to beginners or those with tight budgets. Before lockdown, I wore this foundation all day, every day and- with the correct primer and setting spray- it would last me all day. The foundation and powder are perfect for my sensitive skin and provide a natural look while disguising my naturally red cheeks.

I use the foundation shade “Porcelain” and the “Neutral” for pressed powder.

Soap & Glory Sexy Motherpucker satin lipsticks

I spoke about how much I love these lipsticks on the BeautyBooker Facebook and Twitter. Coming from a small town in the country, when I moved to Aberdeen, I was ecstatic to live close to a Boots shop for the first time. That was when I first discovered Soap & Glory make-up. Their packaging caught my eye since I love vintage and retro fashion. All their packaging is inspired by 1950s advertisements. My favourite Soap & Glory products are the Sexy Mother Pucker satin lipsticks. These lipsticks are soft, velvety, and the shades are gorgeous. They are long-lasting and survive through meals with little need to refresh. I love the healthy shine they give my lips and how smoothly they apply.

I have the shades “Wine Not?”, “Naked Talent” and “Pink Up, Girl”

Rimmel Instafix Fix and Go setting spray and primer

I rarely need my make-up to last all day (at least, I haven’t in lockdown), but this 2-in-1 primer and setting spray effortlessly preserves make-up for the entire day. Usually, I spray generously before applying my foundation and after my make-up is finished. It acts as a primer to my skin, protecting it from a full face of make-up. Setting spray is the most important part of my make-up regime. It’s the final step in my routine and the most essential before leaving the flat on nights out. So, having a primer and setting spray in one bottle is super handy. It has become a staple in my make-up routine, and I couldn’t go without it.

Soap & Glory Thick & Fast Super Volume Mascara

I don’t wear much mascara, mainly because I’m blessed with long natural lashes. However, when I get dolled up for a night out, I do like putting a little mascara on. As you can tell, I’m a big fan of Soap & Glory. Their mascara is perfect for me; it lasts for ages and isn’t clumpy- so no need to worry about spider-leg lashes. Although I don’t do bold eye looks- I love adding a little mascara to my looks to draw more attention to my eyes- this mascara is perfect for that. Unfortunately, this mascara isn’t waterproof, but it does such a great job defining my lashes that I 100% forgive it.

Revolution x Imogenation Eyeshadow Palette

As most of you know, I suck at eyeshadow (as I’ve mentioned in my “More Things to do in Lockdown” blog post). As a result, I keep my looks simple and natural. The Imogenation palette is exactly what I need. It has several neutrals to keep me going with more natural looks, but it also has enough colours for simple, bright looks. I think it’s perfect for me to practice with and improve my blending skills. If you need a palette for simple looks for running errands or wearing to work, I think this palette is ideal. I’m no expert- I know nothing about pigmentation, and the term “colour story” goes over my head. Simply put, I think these colours go well together, and they seem to blend well. This palette makes it look like I know what I’m doing when it comes to eye make-up.

Maybelline SuperStay Matte Ink liquid lipsticks

As I mentioned before, I love lipsticks. Whether they are bright and bold or subtle and light, I love them. So, when I saw a review of the SuperStay Matte Ink lipsticks online saying that they are amazing (especially for the £10 price point), I just had to get my hands on one. I bought the shade “Seductress” since I don’t have many nude shade lipsticks, and I was delighted with it. The shade is a gorgeous natural shade with a hint of pink through it. It’s matte finish is perfect for making my lips look smooth and subtle, plus it lasts forever! I could come home from being out in a hurricane, and I don’t think it would budge! This is my very first liquid lipstick, and I find myself reaching for it all the time. I later got the shade “Escapist”, which I wore on one of my “Upcycle with Me” Facebook live streams and got loads of compliments on it.

Make-up isn’t something that I wear every day but, when I have the time and the notion to dress up, I love how make-up can enhance how I look. Make-up can complement an outfit or make a plain outfit stand out. I never underestimate the power of make-up, and I can’t wait to go out and about after lockdown lifts with my make-up done. What are your go-to make-up products?

Thank you for reading x

Disclaimer: Everyone’s skin is different, what products work for me might not work for others. There are no ads or paid partnerships in this blog post- these are my own opinions and preferences.

Photography: Ryan Duff

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started