A holiday of ‘firsts’: Thrifty in Prague

Only a couple weeks ago, Ryan and I were taking a break from our usual routine. Instead of typing away in the newsroom, we were wandering through the beautiful streets of Prague on our first holiday together.

It was a holiday full of ‘firsts’ for me… It was my first holiday without my parents, my first time abroad (outwith school trips), my first plane journey and my first trip with Ryan.

Old Town of Prague

Our hotel – La Boutique – is only a short 15-20 minute walk from the Charles Bridge which leads to Prague’s bustling Old Town. Every morning we’d take a stroll along the river, admiring the stunning architecture.

At either end of the bridge there is a watch tower you can climb. We climbed the lesser town tower and read about the bridge’s history.

The bridge was consistently crowded with tourists throughout our visit, so we only got photos on our last full day. I got to pet the dog statue, who is said to bring luck and good fortune. He has been pet by so many tourists he has turned a golden colour over the years.

I had to squint through the wind and rain to smile at the camera while reaching out to pet the good boy of Prague.

Across the bridge is the town square, where the astronomical clock, town house and a good few churches are. Prague isn’t called the City of One Hundred Spires for nothing.

The astronomical clock was a highlight of mine. The face is lower to the ground than I was expecting, allowing for some great photos. The clock itself is stunning and tracks the sun, moon and the zodiac, which is amazing.

We also climbed to the top of the town house tower, which had a view that made the blisters and aching legs worth it.

Right across from the bridge we noticed a man selling tickets to see an orchestra performing in a nearby chapel. Classical music isn’t normally my cup of tea but we thought it would be a great new experience.

The Mirror Chapel is absolutely gorgeous, with grand statues, detailed painted ceiling and – of course – mirrors. I enjoyed the music and the atmosphere during the concert and the entire time all I could think was ‘my mum would love this’.

Inside the Mirror Chapel in Prague. It has biblical depictions painted on the ceiling, an organ with statues of angels surrounding it and small mirrors on the ceiling and walls.

Prague Castle

The walk up the steep road to the castle was agonising. By the time we reached the top of the hill, I was dying for a seat and hot chocolate. Conveniently, right next to the castle there is a Starbucks with a view to die for.

I remember a conversation we’d had on the flight only a couple of days beforehand, claiming that we would never go to a fast food or coffee chain while on holiday since it defeats the purpose of seeing new places… Well, that idea went out the window.

After having a short rest (and a small photoshoot) in the Starbucks rooftop seating area, we got moving. The castle is actually more like a small town with a magnificent cathedral in the middle of the grounds.

There is actually a street next to the castle that used to be for the workers. Golden Lane, is a row of tiny houses that have been turned into historic exhibits.

A few of the houses had been turned into one big building where sets of armour were on display – including a set from one of my favourite movies ‘A Knight’s Tale‘ (which was filmed in Prague). Seeing armour from different eras and different areas was fascinating.

I’ve been to plenty of castles in my lifetime thanks to my history-loving mum – but this one is something else. We didn’t get the full tour of it but even then there was still plenty to see and so much history to take in.

Hidden Gems

Throughout our visit, we came across a few places that are a little hidden away and are possibly missing from tourist-y leaflets and maps.

We actually only knew one of our favourite spots existed because a man in the Aberdeen Airport Costa had overheard us chatting. He’d been on holiday to Prague not too long ago and urged us to go to the Hotel U Prince’s rooftop terrace.

Kirstin with the gorgeous view on the rooftop terrace at the Hotel U Prince while on holiday in Prague.

The open section of the terrace has a breathtaking view of the Old Town Square and the staff there make a mean hot chocolate. There is a covered area on the rooftop, where they serve food.

When we went for dinner, Ryan had a steak and I ordered the salmon (my favourite!). Believe me when I tell you it was the best Salmon I’ve ever had. Ryan had a taste and started to wish he had ordered it too.

The interior of the medieval-themed tavern near the castle in Prague. It has wooden tables, chairs and benches, stone walls and floors and fake ivy on the walls.

Another hidden gem was the Tavern by Seven Swabians, which we came across on our way back down the hill from the castle. The tavern/restaurant is medieval-themed and has a lovely atmosphere for feasts and banquets.

Being a huge Lord of the Rings fan and Dungeons and Dragons player, this was right up my street. Ryan got what he called the “medieval mixed grill” and I ordered trout along with some potato dumplings.

Little did I know, the trout would come fully intact with it’s head, skin and bones included. Yikes! After a moment to collect myself, I gave it a try and… It was absolutely delicious! I just made sure to steer clear of the spine and the head.

Kirstin sitting at a table in the Tavern by Seven Swabians with her trout on a plate
Me with my trout.

Shopping in Prague

Since I’m a bit “shopping-mad”, I tried to keep the purchases to a minimum. I pretty much refused to buy clothes (I have enough already) and limited myself to accessories only.

I bought a scarf from one of the many souvenir shops and a pair of earmuffs, which have been worn almost every day since arriving home.

Other than that, I bought a couple souvenir fridge magnets, Christmas tree decorations and a couple of Christmas presents.

One shop we found ourselves visiting a couple times was a little wood carving shop called AMADEA, which had so many cute homeware items I wish I could’ve brought home with me.


… And that was our experience in Prague. With the nerve-wracking experience of flying for the first time out of the way, I’m sure I’ll be going on plenty of other adventures in the future.

I can’t imagine a better place to choose as me and Ryan’s first holiday together.

Have you ever been to Prague? What did you think? Were there any places I missed? Let me know in the comments below.

Photography: Ryan Duff

Related posts

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started